Haryana judokas grab two gold on opening day of judo

Priya from Haryana after winning gold medal in girls 40 Kg Judo Category in 1st Khelo India School Games.

Haryana with two gold medals and one bronze grabbed the honours on the first day of the Judo competition at the K.D. Jadav arena in the first Kehlo India School Games.

While two of the six gold were snared by Haryana, the other four were shared Manipur, Maharashtra, Gujarat and hosts Delhi.

Haryana’s Priya won gold in the girls’ 40 kg class after she executed a clean throw on Asmita Dey of Tripura to score an ippon with more than three minutes left on the clock.

Harish won the second gold for Haryana in the boys 50 kg class. With just 12 seconds left in the bout, Harish executed the difficult kesa gatame throw on Manipur’s Haobijam Kesho to score an ippon bringing an end to the bout which delighted the packed house.

The 44 kg girls finals was an all-Manipur affair in which Thangjam Taba claimed gold, with Moirangthem settling for silver. Anumol. A of Kerala and Shaina Sailesh of Maharastra won their respective repechage bouts to win bronze.

In the Girls 48 kg, class for girls, Snehal Khavare claimed gold with an ippon with more than a minute left on the clock. Ashwini Solanke (Maharashtra) claimed the silver. and Zonusangi of Mizoram and Ganga of Rajasthan earned the bronze medals.

Harish from Harayana in action against Manipur’s Haobijam Kesho in boys 50 Kg Judo Category in 1st Khelo India School Games.

The boys 50kg final bout was an all-Delhi affair between Krishna Kumar and Harsh Dalal. Krishna fought through a painful blow to the knee managed to stop the aggressive and quick Harish with a neat spinning throw with more than 25 seconds to go in the bout to give the hosts its first gold on the judo mat.

In the boys’ 60 kg class, Mayank Kadian got the better of Ishann Kanojia Maharashtra to earn the first gold medal for Gujarat.           



40 kg Priya (Haryana) Gold; Asmita Dey (Tripura) Silver; Rohini Mohite (Maharashtra) & Kamini Yadav (Chandigarh) Bronze

44kg: Thangjam Taba (Manipur) Gold; Moirangthem (Manipur) Silver; Anumol. A (Kerala) & Shaina Sailesh De (Maharastra) Bronze

48 kg: Snehal Khavare (Maharashtra) Gold; Ashwini Vaijhanath Solanke  (Maharashtra) Silver; Zonunsangi (Mizoram) & Ganga (Rajasthan) Bronze 


50 kg: Harish (Haryana) Gold; Haobijam Keshorjit SIngh (Manipur) Silver; Lovepreet (Punjab) & Aryan Drall (Delhi) Bronze

55kg: Krishna Kumar (Delhi) Gold; Harsh Dalal (Delhi) Silver; Vivek Yadav (UP) & Nitish Kumar (Haryana) Bronze 

60kg: Mayank Kadian (Gujarat) Gold; Ishannn Kanojia (Maharashtra) Silver; Ajay Kumar (Madhya Pradesh) & Zishan Ali (UP) Bronze