Haryana grab two more gold medals to complete Judo domination at KISG

Abhinav from Haryana and Sudhir from Delhi are in action in the final match of the Judo boys 90Kg class category at the 1st Khelo India School Games.

Haryana added two more gold medals on the final day of the judo competition in the first Khelo India School Games to push their total tally from the sport to 12, including five gold, one silver and six bronze medals to completely dominate the mat.

Two of the four gold medals on offer on the last day went to Delhi and Maharashtra.

Overall, Haryana won five of the 16 gold contested for, while Punjab won three. Maharashtra, Delhi, Gujarat and Manipur won two each.

Abhinav during the medal ceremony of the Judo boys 90Kg class category at the 1st Khelo India School Games.

On Thursday, Haryana’s Abhinav started the state’s gold rush by winning his final Under-90 kg final bout for boys against Delhi’s Sudhir in a close contest. The Haryana judoka, who was trailing on points for most part of the bout, executed a clean throw on Sudhir to win the crucial ippon point with just four seconds left on the clock to turn the fight in his favour.

Sanyogita Singh gave Haryana its second gold of the day in the girls over 70 kg class in a one-sided contest against Maharashtra’s Apoorva Mahesh in the finals. Sanyogita brought a swift close to the bout with an ippon with plenty of time left on the clock.

Amisha Tokas during the medal ceremony of the Judo girls 70KG class category at the 1st Khelo India School Games.

Delhi’s Amisha Tokas gave the home state the first gold of the day in the under 70 kg class for girls. She defeated her state-mate, Jyoti Tokas, by golden point in a bout that lasted for close to eight minutes.

The final gold of the day was clinched by Maharashtra’s Adnan Sheikh in the over 90 kg class who beat Suthar Salim of Gujarat with just over two minutes left on the clock.


70KG: 1. Amisha Tokas (Delhi) Gold; 2. Jyoti Tokas (Delhi) Silver 3. Chungkham Juli (Manipur) & Rukesh (Haryana) Bronze
Over 70kg: 1. Sanyogita Singh (Haryana) Gold; 2. Apoorva Mahesh (Maharashtra) Silver; 3. PJ Jyolsan (Kerala) & Laishram Sanat Bronze.

90kg: 1. Abhinav (Haryana) Gold; 2. Sudhir (Delhi) Silver; 3. Yash Ghangas (Haryana) & Rankesh Kumar (Rajasthan) Bronze.
Over 90kg: 1. Adnan Sheikh (Maharashtra) Gold; 2. Suthar Salim (Gujarat) Silver; 3. Prince (Haryana) & Aakash (Haryana) Bronze